Previewing Sunday’s Pro Bowl Game Between Stars from AFC, NFC

The 2020 NFL Pro Bowl is this Sunday, Jan. 26 in Orlando, Fla. Essentially the All-Star game of football, this event is the main course of a series of fun contests all week long. While the Pro Bowl is the main event, the Skills Showdown, which aired on ESPN on Thursday night, also deserves recognition as one of the coolest events.

While these events are a way for stars to show off their talents, they are also fun. All week long, players competed in various events from dodgeball to target practice. Some players will make the short trek to DisneyWorld and enjoy a day of fun in the sun while trying out some of America’s most popular rides. Other players will simply relax in Orlando with their teammates while using the week as an opportunity to connect with players from other teams whom they are friends with.

Even the Pro Bowl itself involves fewer rules and more fun. All rostered players will appear in the games for the thrill of it, and many players will find themselves mic’d up as their voices are heard on their team’s social media channels or even ESPN’s broadcast. Sometimes, players will even bring their phones onto the sidelines to capture a photo or video with their teammates, further replicating the feeling that this is a laid-back week meant to provide the league’s biggest role models with a fun way to mark the end of a grueling NFL season.

Of course, that’s not to say that there are no restrictions this week. Who can forget when now-retired referee Ed Hochuli made this memorable penalty announcement?

But in terms of the game and details, the contest kicks off at 3:00 p.m. EST on Sunday and will be televised live on ESPN and ESPN Deportes and simulcast on ABC and Disney XD.

The 2020 Pro Bowl will feature two new rule changes for this game only. As described by the league in a media release, following a successful field goal or try attempt, the scoring team (Team A), has the following options:

  1. Team A may elect to give Team B the ball at Team B’s 25-yard line (1st-and-10), beginning a new series of downs.
  2. Team A may elect to take the ball at their own 25-yard line (4th-and-15).

If Team A is successful in making a first down, Team A will maintain possession and a new series of downs will continue as normal.

If Team A is unsuccessful in making a first down, the result will be a turnover on downs and Team B will take possession at the dead ball spot.

The second rule change involves pre-snap formations and false start infractions.

According to the league, the false start modifications are as follows:

It is not a false start if a flexed, eligible receiver in a two-point stance who flinches or picks up one foot, as long as his other foot remains partially on the ground, and he resets for one second prior to the snap. A receiver who fits this exception is not considered to be “in motion” for purposes of the “illegal shift” rules.

It is a false start if all 11 offensive players have been set for at least one full second, and any flexed, eligible receiver breaks his stance by picking up both feet.

Hall of Famers Terrell Davis and Bruce Smith will serve as the Legends Captains for the AFC while Michael Vick and Hall of Famer Darrell Green will be the Legends Captains for the NFC.

Under terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, each player on the winning Pro Bowl team receives $70,000, while each player on the losing squad earns $35,000.

Pro Bowl rosters include 44 players. The breakdown includes 21 offensive and 18 defensive players in addition to five specialists. Baltimore Ravens coaches, including John Harbaugh, will lead the AFC while Pete Carroll and his Seahawks assistants will command the NFC. The following is a breakdown of the entire list of the 88 players rostered for Sunday’s game, in addition to a label with their position and how many Pro Bowls they have been selected to.

ARIZONA (2)      
Budda Baker Free Safety 2  
Chandler Jones Outside Linebacker 3  
ATLANTA (2)      
Austin Hooper Tight End 2  
Grady Jarrett Interior Lineman 1  
BALTIMORE (12)      
Mark Andrews Tight End 1  
Orlando Brown Tackle 1  
Morgan Cox Long Snapper 3  
Marlon Humphrey Cornerback 1  
Mark Ingram Running Back 3  
Lamar Jackson Quarterback 1  
Matthew Judon Outside Linebacker 1  
Patrick Ricard Fullback 1  
Ronnie Stanley Tackle 1  
Earl Thomas Free Safety 7  
Justin Tucker Kicker 3  
Marshal Yanda Guard 8
BUFFALO (3)      
Tremaine Edmunds Inside Linebacker 1  
Andre Roberts Return Specialist 2  
Tre’Davious White Cornerback 1  
CAROLINA (1)      
Trai Turner Guard 4  
CINCINNATI (1)      
Geno Atkins Interior Lineman 8  
CLEVELAND (3)      
Joel Bitonio Guard 2  
Nick Chubb Running Back 1  
Jarvis Landry Wide Receiver 5  
DALLAS (5)      
Amari Cooper Wide Receiver 4  
Ezekiel Elliott Running Back 3  
Travis Frederick Center 5  
Jaylon Smith Inside Linebacker 1  
Tyron Smith Tackle 7  
DENVER (2)      
Von Miller Outside Linebacker 8  
Courtland Sutton Wide Receiver 1  
DETROIT (2)      
Kenny Golladay Wide Receiver 1  
Darius Slay Cornerback 3  
GREEN BAY (3)      
Davante Adams Wide Receiver 3  
Kenny Clark Interior Lineman 1  
Za’Darius Smith Outside Linebacker 1  
HOUSTON (2)      
Laremy Tunsil Tackle 1  
Deshaun Watson Quarterback 2  
Jack Doyle Tight End 2  
Ryan Kelly Center 1  
Darius Leonard Inside Linebacker 1  
Quenton Nelson Guard 2  
Josh Allen Defensive End 1  
Calais Campbell Defensive End 4  
DJ Chark Wide Receiver 1  
Keenan Allen Wide Receiver 2  
Melvin Ingram Defensive End 3  
MINNESOTA (8)      
Dalvin Cook Running Back 1  
Kirk Cousins Quarterback 2  
Everson Griffen Defensive End 4  
C.J. Ham Fullback 1  
Danielle Hunter Defensive End 2  
Eric Kendricks Inside Linebacker 1  
Xavier Rhodes Cornerback 3  
Harrison Smith Strong Safety 5  
NEW ORLEANS (10)      
Terron Armstead Tackle 2  
Drew Brees Quarterback 13  
Jared Cook Tight End 2  
Deonte Harris Return Specialist 1  
Cameron Jordan Defensive End 5  
Alvin Kamara Running Back 3  
Wil Lutz Kicker 1  
Andrus Peat Guard 2  
Michael Thomas Wide Receiver 3  
Larry Warford Guard 3  
NEW ENGLAND (2)      
Stephon Gilmore Cornerback 3  
Matthew Slater Special Teamer 8  
PITTSBURGH (4)      
Minkah Fitzpatrick Free Safety 1  
Joe Haden Cornerback 3  
Cameron Heyward Interior Lineman 4  
T.J. Watt Outside Linebacker 2  
RAIDERS (1)      
Rodney Hudson Center 3  
SEATTLE (2)      
Shaquill Griffin Cornerback 1  
Russell Wilson Quarterback 7  
TAMPA BAY (1)      
Shaquil Barrett Outside Linebacker 1  
TENNESSEE (4)      
Jurrell Casey Interior Lineman 5  
Derrick Henry Running Back 1  
Brett Kern Punter 2  
Ryan Tannehill Quarterback 1  
WASHINGTON (1)      
Tress Way Punter 1  


Check us out on our socials:   
Twitter: @PTSTNews and @TalkPrimeTime
Facebook Page: Prime Time Sports Talk
Join our Facebook Group: Prime Time Sports Talk 
Instagram: @primetimesportstalk

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *