End of an Era: Raiders Say Goodbye to Oakland


From Ken Stabler to Jim Plunkett to Derek Carr, John Madden to Art Snell to Jon Gruden, Lyle Alzado, Howie Long, Tim Brown, Marcus Allen, Bo Jackson, Al Davis.

The list goes on and on.

Whether you’re a fan of the silver and black or not, in one way or another, you are linked to the Oakland Coliseum and Raider Nation, good or bad. Today, for the final time, there will be Raiders football in Oakland, Calif.

Oakland has been home to the Raiders since their inaugural season in 1960 … except from 1982 to 1994, when the team moved to Los Angeles, much to the dismay of their faithful fans. Thanks to owner Al Davis, they returned to Oakland in 1995.

26 of those enshrined in the Hall of Fame have played, coached or worked for the Raiders, whether for most of their career or as a pit stop.


That list consists of the following players:

Ron Mix T

Jim Otto C

George Blanda QB/K


Willie Brown CB

Gene Upshaw G

Fred Biletnikoff WR

Art Shell T

Ted Hendricks LB

Al Davis Owner

Mike Haynes CB

Eric Dickerson RB

Howie Long DE

Ronnie Lott S

Dave Casper TE

Marcus Allen RB

James Lofton WR

Bob Brown T

John Madden Head Coach

Rod Woodson S

Jerry Rice WR

Warren Sapp DL

Ray Guy P

Tim Brown WR

Ron Wolf Executive

Ken Stabler QB

Randy Moss WR

The Raiders have three Super Bowl Championships, albeit the last being in 1984. They are also synonymous with the infamous Tuck Rule. They also lost in the Super Bowl to current head coach Jon Gruden’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Whether you love or hate the silver and black, one thing is for sure, the infamous Black Hole will be rocking for one last time. And maybe, just maybe, they will win one last time.

So long, Oakland. Next stop, Las Vegas.


Check us out on our socials:   
Twitter: @PTSTNews and @TalkPrimeTime
Facebook Page: Prime Time Sports Talk
Join our Facebook Group: Prime Time Sports Talk 
Instagram: @primetimesportstalk


Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Browse by Category:

Visit for
hard-hitting KC Chiefs coverage.