NBA Top 75 Countdown: Players 25-11

NBA Top 75 Countdown: Players 25-11

by October 24, 2021 0 comments

For the 75th anniversary of the NBA, the league released the Top 75 players that ever played the game. They allowed media, fans, and a few inner employees to vote on who deserves to be on the list. My own list highlights players who not only dominated during their time in the NBA, but also those who helped influence the growth of the league.

You can find players 75-51 here and players 50-26 right here.

25 Jason Kidd (1994-2013)

Kidd was a well-rounded point guard who knew how to win. Every team he played for was considered a title contender when he was on the roster. Although he only won one championship (2011), Kidd finished his career with 10 All-Star nods, nine All-Defensive teams, six All-NBA teams, and is second all-time in assists.

24 Chris Paul (2005-Present)

Paul is the league’s smartest point guard to ever play the game. Currently fifth all-time in assists, Paul is one of the best passers in the league’s history. An 11-time All-Star, 10-time All-NBA, and nine-time All-Defensive team.

23 Jerry West (1960-1974)

West is the NBA’s logo and has been for decades. Attached to his silhouette come 14 All-Star selections, 12 All-NBA teams, and made the All-Defensive team five times. West is the only player to win a Finals MVP for a series that he lost.

22 Oscar Robertson(1960-1974)

The original triple-double machine was the ‘Big-O’. Robertson was capable was of adding double-digits to any statistic. He was an MVP, one-time champion, 12-time All-Star, and 11-time All-NBA.

21 Moses Malone (1974-1995)

Malone is a four-time MVP and an NBA champion. He won one Finals MVP, was selected to 13 All-Star games, was eight-time All-NBA, and twice All-Defensive team. Malone is ninth all-time in career scoring with 29,409 points.

20 David Robinson (1989-2003)

Robinson missed his first two seasons due to his obligations to serve for the United States Navy. Even with two fewer seasons, Robinson gained many accolades during his career. He won Rookie of the Year, an MVP, and a Defensive Player of the Year. He added two championships with the San Antonio Spurs, was selected 10 times to the All-Star game, 10 times to the All-NBA team, and eight times to the All-Defensive team.

19 Karl Malone (1985-2004)

Malone has the second-most points in NBA history and has the third-most rebounds in history. The forward is a two-time MVP, a 14-time All-Star, 14-time All-NBA, and four-time All-Defensive team.

18 Patrick Ewing (1985-2002)

Ewing was thwarted multiple seasons by the same guy that dominated the 90s. His career was filled with dominating the low post and becoming one of the most efficient low post scorers in league history. A seven-time All-NBA, three-time All-Defensive team, and a Rookie of the Year award winner.

17 Charles Barkley (1984-2000)

Sir Charles is a one-time MVP who dominated the game in the 1980s and 90s. Every team he has been a part of saw success. One of the greatest players to never win a championship; he played during two eras against some of the best dynasties. Barkley is sixth all-time in offensive rebounds and was the league’s most efficient post scorer of his time.

16 Kevin Garnett (1995-2016)

Garnett is one of five players to win both an MVP and a Defensive Player of the Year award during their career. The ‘Big Ticket’ was a 15-time All-Star, nine-time All-NBA, 12-time All-Defensive team, and one of the most eccentric trash talkers in history.

15 Kevin Durant (2007-Present)

Durant is a one-time MVP and a two-time Finals MVP. He won two championships in Golden State and is a five-time scoring champion. Durant so far has eleven All-Star nods and is nine-time All-NBA.

14 Stephen Curry (2009-Present)

The league’s best shooter, Curry has broken almost every three-point record in the books. At the end of his career, he will be the leading three-point shooter. Curry is a two-time MVP, a three-time champion with Golden State, and has been the most influential player of the 2010s.

13 Dirk Nowitzki (1998-2019)

Nowitzki is sixth all-time in scoring, eighth all-time in rebounding, and ushered in a new wave of stretch-fours. Nowitzki’s style of play of stretching the floor as a seven-footer is one of the league’s newest fad. Every team looks for players that can play in the low-post, and score from beyond the arc. Nowitzki is a one-time MVP, a one-time champion, and won Finals MVP.

12 Tim Duncan (1997-2016)

Duncan is a five-time champion and three-time Finals MVP with the San Antonio Spurs. Mr. Fundamental won an MVP in 2002 and is one of the best defenders to never win a Defensive Player of the Year award. A 15-time All-Star, 15-time All-NBA Team member, and 15-time All-Defensive team member.

11 John Stockton (1984-2003)

Stockton is the all-time leader in assists and it is not even close. The guard leads the league by over 3,500 more assists than the second-place holder. Stockton is also a 10-time all-star, 11-time All-NBA team member, and a five-time All-Defensive team member.

Check us out on our socials:   
Twitter: @PTSTNews and @TalkPrimeTime
Facebook Page: Prime Time Sports Talk
Join our Facebook Group: Prime Time Sports Talk 
Instagram: @primetimesportstalk

Follow John Devereaux on Twitter @NBADevereaux

Main Image Credit: via Minnesota Spots Fan

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Reply