Revolution Announce Protected Players Ahead of Expansion Draft

Photo Credit:

The New England Revolution released their complete list of protected players ahead of Tuesday’s MLS Expansion Draft for newcomers LAFC.

Notable players that are unprotected include Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Chris Tierney, and Matt Turner.

Protected players

Juan Agudelo – FW
Teal Bunbury – FW
Cody Cropper – GK
Antonio Delamea – DF (INT)
Claude Dielna – DF (INT)
Diego Fagundez – MF (HGP)
Andrew Farrell – DF
Gershon Koffie – MF (INT)
Krisztián Németh – FW (INT)
Lee Nguyen – MF
Kelyn Rowe – MF

Automatically protected players

Scott Caldwell – MF (HGP)
Zachary Herivaux – MF (HGP)

The Revolution were allowed to protect 11 players, three of which must be international players according to MLS rules. Homegrown players that ended the season on the team’s supplemental or reserve roster were automatically protected and did not count towards the 11 protected players.

The MLS Expansion Draft will take place on Tuesday Dec. 12 and will consist of five rounds. Any player not protected by the club is eligible for selection by LAFC and no more than one player can be picked from each team.



Kyle Bray is the Editor in Chief at Prime Time Sports Talk and a freshman journalism major at Emerson College. He also serves as the sports editor for the Bay State Herald and the deputy sports editor for The Berkeley Beacon. Aside from his editing duties at Prime Time Sports Talk, he is the lead New England Revolution writer, the Holy Cross Men's Basketball reporter, and is a member of the Prime Time Sports Talk radio team. He grew up just outside of Boston and has been a Boston sports fan all his life.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: